WiSE Learning Community Peer Mentors

The peer mentor is a student staff member who acts as the primary point of contact between the Program for Women in Science and Engineering (PWSE) and the members of the WiSE Learning Communities. The WiSE Learning Communities are residentially based and activities last for an academic year. Each learning community is comprised of approximately 20-25 first-year women majoring in a science, technology, engineering, or math (STEM) major. Because women are an underrepresented population within the STEM majors, they often feel isolated and disconnected from campus. The WiSE Learning Communities exist to reduce these feelings and to assist students with their transitions to college. Each learning community is led by one peer mentor, who work to serve as a role model for their students. Peer Mentors assist learning community members in achieving the following goals:

  • increased capacity to succeed in diverse and challenging curricula
  • development of community leadership skills
  • development of a greater sense of personal well-being
  • increased self-efficacy
  • increased career maturity
  • create a community based on shared goals of scholarship and excellence
  • development of cross cultural understanding

Peer Mentor Job Description

2013 First-year Coordinators and Peer Mentors

First Name Last Name Position Telephone Email
Coordinators
Kelli Campa First-year Learning Community Coordinator 515-294-9964 pwselcw@iastate.edu
Julia Collett First-year Learning Community Coordinator 515-294-9964 pwselce@iastate.edu
Allie Rowe Retention Coordinator 515-294-5278 arowe@iastate.edu
First Name Last Name WiSE Floor Major Email
Peer Mentors
Brittany Burmeister Elm Turner Nutritional Science brittany@iastate.edu
Katlyn DeVoe Eaton Tilden Agricultural Engineering krdevoe@iastate.edu
Andrea Dvorak Larch Kehlenbeck Civil Engineering apdvorak@iastate.edu
Zoe Eagle Friley O'Bryan Industrial Engineering zjeagle@iastate.edu
Julia Hagan Friley Pennell Kinesiology and Health jmhagan@iastate.edu
Hannah Hoglund Oak Sims Environmental Science hhoglund@iastate.edu
Nicole Kittleson Willow Bates Global Reource Systems nicolek@iastate.edu
Megan Komos Oak Fosmark Industrial Engineering mmkomos@iastate.edu
Stephanie Lindblom Martin Campbell Animal Science lindblom@iastate.edu
Glenna Lovig Friley Henderson Civil Engineering gmlovig@iastate.edu
Camille Perk Helser Rowe Industrial Engineering ceperk@iastate.edu
Katie Stangl Friley Palmer Mechanical Engineering kmstangl@iastate.edu
Kathryn Vincent Oak King Aerospace Engineering kvincent@iastate.edu